Holiday Flashback: Kleftiko in my Slow Cooker

Holiday Flashback: Kleftiko in my Slow Cooker

I bought a slow cooker this week, and much to my family’s amusement I’ve cooked pretty much every meal in it since!  The best recipe I did brought us all happy memories of our holidays to Cyprus. Plus it fitted in well with my 7-year-old’s World Cooking Challenge. We always love having Kleftiko whenever we go to Cyprus, and it’s something I was dying to try as soon as I collected my slow cooker.

I found a few recipes online, but none of them were really similar to the Kleftiko we’ve had on holiday, they all seemed to have lots of Rosemary in. Perhaps this is the difference between a Greek Kleftiko and a Cypriot one, but I left the Rosemary out.

I know it doesn’t look much, but slow cooker recipes rarely look pretty. The meat though was delicious and tender and succulent and packed with flavour. We always serve it with Tzatziki and a Greek salad on the side, which I think really lifts the whole dish. Yum!

Ingredients:

  • lamb on the bone (I used 6 lamb chops for 4 people – just because they were on offer)
  • potatoes, peeled and halved if large (1 largish potato each)
  • 3 carrots
  • 1 onion
  • salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp dried oregano
  • 4 garlic cloves
  • Juice and rind of 1 lemon
  • 250 ml (1 cup) water or lamb stock.

Peel and place the potatoes in the bottom of your slow cooker. Add chopped onion and carrot and pour in the stock.

Fry the lamb for a few minutes on each side to seal it and add some colour.

Place the lamb on the top of the vegetables.

Crush the garlic and mix with the herbs, salt and pepper and lemon and pour over the lamb.

Leave to cook in your slow cooker for about 3 hours on high, or 6 or 7 hours on low.

Serve with a Greek Salad and Tzatziki on the side.

Holiday Flashback: Kleftiko in my Slow Cooker

Leave a Reply

