I’m a fool for you Nigella…

Nigella's lemon meringue fool

I apologise. I’ve spent far too much time this week ranting about Tesco and lard, and I’m long overdue a post about actual cooking!

This is a dessert I was treated to a few weeks ago at my lovely friend Lou-Lou‘s house, and I have to say it’s a blinder! Nigella has outdone herself again in true full-fat ‘would you like extra cream with that?’ style. It’s not a pudding to eat when you’re on a diet, let’s get that straight before we go any further.

It’s basically a lemon version of Eton Mess made with lemon curd (make sure you get the very best lemon curd you can) and it is wonderful!

She claims the recipe ‘makes enough to fill 4 small martini glasses or 2 goblets for greedy people’. We went down the ‘greedy people’ route and as you can see the portions are huge! I never though I’d say this, but when a pudding is predominantly whipped cream then the smaller portions would have been plenty. While the pudding was ambrosial, after dinner I just couldn’t manage all of mine without feeling like I was in danger of exploding.

Having said that I was the only person who didn’t pretty-much lick their sundae dish clean, so perhaps I’m a bit of a pudding lightweight! Nigella you defeated me, but I enjoyed every second of the challenge!

Anyway, this is a wonderful pudding.  Even my husband (who claims he doesn’t like cream) wolfed it down, so I’d definitely recommend it!

Nigella's lemon meringue fool

Nigella’s Lemon Meringue Fool

Makes enough to fill 4 small martini glasses or 2 goblets for greedy people.

Ingredients:

  • 150g lemon curd, plus a little to decorate
  • 1-2 teaspoons limoncello (lemon liqueur) or lemon juice
  • 250ml double cream
  • 1 meringue nest (shop-bought is fine) lemon zest, to serve

Put the lemon curd into a bowl and stir in the limoncello (or lemon juice), adding more if it seems too thick to fold into some whipped cream in a moment.
Pour the double cream into another bowl and whisk until just thick. It should be holding its shape but not so thickly whipped that it looks dry: it will thicken more as you fold in the lemon curd.
Drizzle half the lemon curd mixture over the cream and fold in with a rubber spatula, then do the same with the remaining half. You don’t want it all folded in completely: whipped cream rippled with lemon is what you’re aiming for.

Crumble the meringue nest with your fingers into the fool, and gently fold most of this into mix.. Spoon it into 4 small martini glasses (or fill 2 larger goblets) and decorate with some lemon zest curls and a drizzle of lemon curd, or add some of your favourite fruits…Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

