2 delicious things: Jason Statham and Madeleines

Madeleines

I offer you two delicious treats this Wednesday morning: freshly baked Madeleines and Jason Statham.  You may wonder why I’ve grouped those two lovely, but seemingly unrelated, things together?

I’ll explain.  My first introduction to Madeleines was watching the fabulous movie The Transporter, and they have become inextricably linked in my mind. Every time I think of these delicious French delights I  also think of Jason Statham (no bad thing) and vice versa. *sigh*

I’ve been meaning to buy a Madeleine tin for a while now, but simply haven’t come across one in a shop, so I borrowed my good friend Lou Lou‘s tin and recipe at the weekend and finally got baking. I didn’t realize quite how delicious, and easy, they would be…

If you don’t fancy the idea of a half-naked well-muscled Statham covered in motor oil in possibly the best fight-scene in the world feel free to skip this clip and go to the recipe at the bottom of the page, but I *do* thoroughly recommend it…

If you can’t spare the full 5 minutes to watch this clip, I recommend skipping forward to 3:01 and just watching from there…

Madeleines MadeleinesMadeleines

Madeleine Recipe

Makes 8, takes 15 minutes including 8 minutes cooking time.

Ingredients:

  • 60g butter (melted)
  • 1 egg
  • 50g caster sugar
  • 50g plain flour
  • vanilla extract

Method:

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees C and butter the Madeleine tin.

Whisk the egg and sugar until thick, then mix in the vanilla.

Add the flour and fold into the egg mixture. Fold in the butter and spoon into the Madeleine tin.

Bake for 7-8 minutes until they are golden brown and come starting to shrink away from the edges of the tin.

Tip onto a cooling rack and dust with icing sugar.

2 thoughts on “2 delicious things: Jason Statham and Madeleines

  1. Pingback: Slutty Brownies: Just HOW Good Are They? | Nice Like Nigella

  2. Pingback: This Week in Short: Baking and Breakouts | Nice Like Nigella

Leave a Reply

