Book review: Essential Equipment for the Kitchen

Essential Equipment for the Kitchen‘Have nothing in your house that you do not know to be useful or believe to be beautiful’ – William Morris.

I wish I’d had this mantra when I first started collecting things for my home, and instead of buying cheap and cheerful I’d had this inspiration to save until I could buy really wonderful things.

Now that I’ve had my own home for (quite a few) years now I’ve started gradually replacing my bargain-basement mediocre homewares with things I truly love, partly out of necessity and party because I have a slight fetish for beautiful kitchen things!

I could spend hours looking through this book. It’s packed full of design classics and truly beautiful items for your home. It’s almost like a checklist of things to aspire to, or perhaps a personal shopper’s guide for equipping a really beautiful and stylish kitchen. It contains everything from chic cheese graters, to beautiful saucepans, wonderful knives, storage jars, teapots and crockery.

And don’t think that everything in this style bible is un-attainably expensive, I spotted a Bodem glass teapot which I have in my very own cupboard (I think it cost about £20). The perfect coffee table book for lovers of design and cooking!

Essential Equipment for the Kitchen by Charlotte & Peter Fiell, published by Goodman Fiell, RRP £19.99, is available from www.carltonbooks.co.uk and all good bookshops.

Book review: Essential Equipment for the Kitchen IMG_0580 IMG_0579

Leave a Reply

