Using left-over bananas: Italian breakfast banana bread

Italian Breakfast Banana Bread

Prep: 5 mins. Cooking time: 50 mins.

I love bananas, but only when they’re slightly on the green side of ripe. This means I invariably have browning bananas left in my fruit bowl every week since I only eat bananas for the first 2 days after my weekly shop! I’m always looking for ways to use up bananas, so I thought I’d try this recipe for a change.

My recipe is adapated from Nigella Lawson’s Italian Breakfast Banana Bread from her Nigelissima book. Apparently the fact that she called it ‘Italian’ had proud Italian cooks in uproar about the fact that it’s nothing like anything Italian despite this, it’s a nice cake.

The original recipe was fine, but I can’t resist tinkering with recipes, so I’ve reduced the amount of oil used (I wasn’t comfortable using quite that much oil in the recipe), reduced the coffee slightly and added some sultanas. Now I love it! I thought I’d post both recipes, let me know which version you prefer!

Nigella’s Italian Breakfast Bread ingredients:

  • 150ml flavourless vegetable oil
  • 3 medium bananas, very ripe
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • Pinch salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 175g plain flour
  • Half teaspoon of bicarbonate of soda
  • 4 teaspoons instant espresso powder

My version ingredients:

  • 100ml vegetable oil
  • 3 medium bananas, very ripe
  • 100g sultanas or raisins
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • Pinch salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 150g caster sugar
  • 175g self raisng flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 shot of cold espresso

banana bread

Method:

Mash the ripe bananas in a bowl then add all the other ingredients and mix. Pour into a loaf tin (if you use a silicone loaf tin you won’t need to grease or line the tin – although using bananas and oil make quite a bouncy cake so you might get away without doing this – I don’t.

Cook for 50-60 minutes at 170 degrees C / gas mark 3.

Let the cake cool slightly before turning out. If you use a silicone tin, I recommend letting the cake cool completely before turning out.

banana bread

Makes 8-10 slices.

If you can’t wait to eat it, its delicious warm with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, or cold as breakfast on it’s own or spread with Nutella!

The smell of it cooking in the oven is so good that even six year old boys (who normally wouldn’t eat a banana if the world depended on it) can’t resist it…

banana bread

3 thoughts on “Using left-over bananas: Italian breakfast banana bread

  1. Pingback: Cooking With Bananas | jovinacooksitalian

Leave a Reply

